The Rascally Rabbit!

Welcome Readers,

It think it has been sometime since my last post, so let me say I missed you! To get this blog back on track, let me hit you with my most recent hunting adventure entitled The Rascally Rabbit.

I don’t have nearly enough fingers and toes to count all of the times my brother and I have walked through the woods trying to scare up rabbits. Without dogs, it’s tough! Rabbits have those big ears for a reason, they hear us coming and they burrow down deeper than most women do into 50 Shades of Grey (that’s right–pop culture reference in your face!). So, when we do finally scare one up, it is vital to make our shots count.

Just yesterday, I happen to be partner-less, but I wasn’t luckless.  About 1 week earlier as I was pulling into my driveway coming home from work, I saw a rabbit run across the back part of our yard and into a patch of taller grass and weed that sits right behind a cement slab that our neighboring farmer parks his equipment on. I have looked at, and ignored, that patch of land for 25 years now and I can’t tell you why. Here I was, this small patch of Rabbit Heaven, sitting right next to me, but like Elmer Fudd chasing Bugs, I just keep running in circles in my “normal” rabbit hunting land.

Yesterday I decided was the day that I would explore this uncharted territory. I got all dressed up, sort of like that kid from The ChristmasStory, not only because it was snowing and the wind was blowing, but because I thought this rabbit hunt might be just like my others…2 hours of walking around in the cold with no luck.

But, seeing that rabbit run into this area earlier in the week payed off. I was about 5 yards from the small plot of land and I saw the rabbit tracks that led into the grass. I chambered a round in my Remington 870 Express, took the safety off, and entered The Land of Plenty. I was literally two steps into the grass and I see the flash of fur bolt out from under a brush pile and it was headed straight out in front of me. The instincts took over and before I knew it, I had pulled up the shotgun, put the bead on the rabbit, and put a round off.  At first I thought I had missed, because I saw the rabbit take a turn like a NASCAR driver circling in for the finish line, but as quickly as I registered that, the rabbit went down on his side and that was the end. It was a direct hit right behind his ears.

101_4471 101_4468

The rabbit was gutted, cleaned, and processed. Now just waiting to be put into a great rabbit stew.

With the Super Bowl and this Super Hunt, it was truly a Super Sunday.

Enjoy the hunt,

-R-

Leave a Reply

